I see a lot of this sort of thing, both from the GOP headliners, and the chattering classes:

Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan have had some success in obscuring the health care debate by pointing out that Ryan’s proposal does not change Medicare for people currently over 55 years old.

via The next frontier in the case against Paul Ryan – The Plum Line – The Washington Post.

Oh…kay….

But I’m 53. So, ya know, what’s that gonna do for me?

I’ve been paying into Social Security and Medicare for about 30 years now. There’s been some modicum of security in the idea that, if all else fails, at least I’ll have health care, eventually.  And I paid in to that system, each and every paycheck I received, deducted from my pay on the promise of that old age security.

Needless to say, I’m not too warm to the idea of a check I’m supposed to put toward the best of the rotten health care plans I can find.

If I can find one. Because of, you know, pre-existing conditions.  That was something you wanted to chop off the health care tree as well, wasn’t it, Misters R & R?

*sigh*

