Jamelle Bouie reflects on Clinton’s wonderful speech at the DNC convention in Charlotte:

What made this speech great was Clinton’s ability to forge a connection with viewers through this mix of charisma, intelligence and deep policy knowledge.

via Big Dog, Unleashed.

I loved the speech. Figuring (correctly) it was supposed to be a 20-or-so minute speech, I was never bored for the three quarters of an hour it actually took.  I don’t think the audience was either – I saw a few people shifting from one foot to the other, but I never saw anyone looking bored.

I love Clinton – I confess I’m an unabashed Clinton supporter, have been since he first appeared on Arsenio Hall’s show in 1992 when he was waging his unlikely but ultimately successful campaign. That show sold me – google it – and I’ve been a fan based on policy level from just before his nomination and ever since.  And – please note, trend watchers – I say this in the absence of many a woman’s strange attraction to the Big Dog. That’s not why I adore him.  No, I adore his mind. Honest.

In any case, one of the many things I adore, and something that played strong and true at the DNC, is that Clinton NEVER talks down to his audience. He always assumes that we have the ability to understand the deep stuff, the nuanced stuff.  I don’t imagine he thinks his audience is predominantly well-educated, particularly in the subtle workings of the economy, yet he always talk to us as if we can understand. He might use slightly less wonkish language, but he never seems to doubt our intelligence.

You know, I imagine that I’m not the only listener to respond this way. And Clinton’s assumption of our intelligence – not education, but intelligence – plays not just to our own self-importance, but more importantly, to our ability to think about what this election means, in the deepest sense, to the voters.

Love ya, Big Dog. Thanks so much!

